Posted on Posted in World Cup

Super Eagles coach – Gernot Rohr has announced Nigeria’s provisional squad for this summer’s FIFA World Cup in Russia.

The Eagles are drawn in Group D, dubbed the Group of ‘death’ along with Argentina, Croatia and Iceland.


The list in full;

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United).

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria).

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (UD Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Nwankwo Simeon (Crotone FC, Italy); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars)

All invited players have been told to report at the Le Meridien Hotel and Golf Resort, Uyo on Monday, 21st May.


Time-table for the Group stage of the tournament.

Thursday, June 14

Russia v Saudi Arabia Moscow 4pm
Friday, June 15
Egypt v Uruguay 1pm BBC
Morocco v Iran 4pm ITV
Portugal v Spain 7pm BBC
Saturday, June 16
France v Australia 11am BBC
Argentina v Iceland Moscow 2pm ITV
Denmark v Peru 5pm BBC
Croatia v Nigeria 8pm ITV
Sunday, June 17
Costa Rica v Serbia 1pm ITV
Germany v Mexico Moscow 4pm BBC
Brazil v Switzerland 7pm ITV
Monday, June 18
Sweden v South Korea 1pm ITV
Belgium v Panama 4pm BBC
Tunisia v England 7pm BBC
Tuesday, June 19
Colombia v Japan 1pm BBC
Poland v Senegal 4pm ITV
Russia v Egypt 7pm BBC
Wednesday, June 20
Portugal v Morocco 1pm BBC
Uruguay v Saudi Arabia 4pm BBC
Iran v Spain 7pm ITV
Thursday, June 21
France v Peru 1pm ITV
Denmark v Australia 4pm ITV
Argentina v Croatia 7pm BBC
Friday, June 22
Brazil v Costa Rica 1pm ITV
Nigeria v Iceland 4pm BBC
Serbia v Switzerland 7pm BBC
Saturday, June 23
Belgium v Tunisia 1pm BBC
Germany v Sweden 4pm ITV
South Korea v Mexico 7pm ITV
Sunday, June 24
England v Panama 1pm BBC
Japan v Senegal 4pm BBC
Poland v Colombia 7pm ITV
Monday, June 25
Saudi Arabia v Egypt 3pm ITV
Uruguay v Russia 3pm ITV
Iran v Portugal 7pm BBC
Spain v Morocco 7pm BBC
Tuesday, June 26
Denmark v France 3pm ITV
Australia v Peru 3pm ITV
Nigeria v Argentina 7pm BBC
Croatia v Iceland 7pm BBC
Wednesday, June 27
South Korea v Germany 3pm BBC
Mexico v Sweden 3pm BBC
Serbia v Brazil 7pm ITV
Switzerland v Costa Rica 7pm ITV
Thursday, June 28
Japan v Poland 3pm BBC
Colombia v Senegal 3pm BBC
Panama v Tunisia 7pm ITV
England v Belgium 7pm ITV

Leave a Reply