Posted on Posted in England, English premier league

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has won the Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year, reports the Mirror Sport.

The Egyptian now follow in the footsteps of former Red’s striker Luis Suarez, who won the award and also the PFA award in 2014. And he’s now the first African to win the award.

The forward has enjoyed an incredible debut season at Anfield, scoring 43 times in all competitions since joining the Reds last summer for a fee in the region of £34m from Roma.

Over 400 journalists voted for their player of the year with Salah coming out on top, ahead of De Bruyne and Harry Kane.

“It’s been the tightest call since 1968/69, when there was a dead heat between Tony Book of Manchester City and Derby’s Dave Mackay,” FWA chief Patrick Barclay said.

“Right up to the last week or so we thought it might happen again, so strong was the support for Kevin de Bruyne, but Mo Salah’s relentless match-winning form, exemplified by his two great goals against Roma, seems to have swung the vote by a very narrow margin.

“What a race it has been between two players who, in a relatively short time, have reached genuine world class. But Mo Salah is the worthiest of winners.

He is also the first African to receive the award and we congratulate him on a magnificent season.”

Salah is only the second non-European player to scoop the FWA prize after former Liverpool striker Luis Suarez.

Salah also look set to win the Golden Boot award to cap a stunning campaign where his brilliance has put Jurgen Klopp’s side on the verge of reaching the finals of the Champions League for the first time since thirteen years.

The Reds are also in a strong position to finish in the top four of the Premier League.

Leave a Reply