Posted on Posted in English premier league, World Cup

Mo Salah has been crowned the BBC African Footballer of the Year.

Salah beat off competition from team-mate Sadio Mane, Leipzig’s Naby Keita, Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Chelsea’s Victor Moses to win the award.

The Liverpool forward has won the gong after a successful year for both club and country.

Salah, the current top goalscorer in the Premier League, was at the heart of an Egypt side which finished runners-up at the Africa Cup of Nations back in February. He later helped steer his country to their first World Cup finals since 1990.

He scored five of their seven final qualifying stage goals to send them to Russia.

As Roma sold him to Liverpool last summer and the  25 years old, has scored 20 goals in all competitions.

Asked about his win, Salah said: ‘I am very happy to win this award.
‘It’s always a special feeling when you win something. I feel like I had a great year, so I’m very happy.’

“I would like to win this award also next year,” Salah told BBC Sport.

“I have always followed my way, and I want everyone in Egypt to follow my way.

“Since I left Egypt, in my mind, I want to be the best Egyptian ever. I work hard and try to be different from them.”

He is the first Egyptian to claim success since Mohamed Aboutrika in 2008 and first Liverpool player since El Hadji Diouf in 2002.


Final outcome of the vote

1. Mohamed Salah
2. Sadio Mane
3. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
4. Victor Moses
5. Naby Keita


The winner was announced on Monday evening, following a public vote on the BBC’s website.

Leave a Reply