Posted on Posted in World Cup

bThe Super Eagles of Nigeria learn their fate today as the draw takes place in Moscow this afternoon.

The rules for the draw are pretty simple: four teams in each group, and nobody can draw another team from their continental confederation, unless you are a European side, where you can draw one other.

Nigeria are in Pot 4 and look certain to face strong oppositions from other groups.

However, teams will not fancy facing the Super Eagles who beat Argentina with ease during the last international break. The Nigeria national football team is arguably the strongest African country coming to the World Cup.

Here’s the Pot

Pot 1: Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, France

Pot 2: Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia, Mexico, Uruguay, Croatia

Pot 3: Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Iran

Pot 4: Serbia, Nigeria, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia.


Hosts Russia will kick the tournament off on Thursday June 14, 2018 at 4:00pm. They will play the team drawn second in Group A at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.

Russia 2018 will culminate on Sunday, July 15 by 4pm at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.

The draw in full

Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay
Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran
Group C: France, Australia Peru, Denmark
Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria
Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia
Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea
Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England
Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan

Leave a Reply